History & Talks

Regulars

Memory Lane

11 – 11.45


These reminiscence sessions are an opportunity to meet socially and share stories of the past. These drop-in sessions are free and last about 45 minutes. Each session will be based around a different theme. All are welcome.

Tuesday 6 November – Make Do and Mend
Tuesday 4 December – Christmas Past
Tuesday 15 January – Keeping Warm
Tuesday 5 February – Famous Faces
Tuesday 5 March – Moving About
Tuesday 2 April – Sunday Best
Tuesday 7 May – Fetes and Festivities

 

Walking Wycombe with Willie: Town Walks

Saturday 16 March; Saturday 6 April; Saturday 18 May | 10am – 12.45pm


Join Willie for a 2.5 mile, 2.5 hour, walking history tour around the centre of the town, departing and returning to Wycombe Museum. The walk is mainly along roads with one short, steep climb. The Museum will be open at 10am for a 10.15am departure, so pick up your drinks to take away before you go! The walks are free but any donations will go to our partner organisation www.streetkidsdirect.org.uk 

No need to book – just turn up!

 

Walking Wycombe with Willie: Short Town Walks

Monday 8 April; Monday 20 May | 10 – 11am


Join Willie far a new, shorter one mile walk round the centre of the town which is suitable for motorised buggies and is completely flat. It will start at Pann Mill on The Rye at 10.00 and thread its way through the town to finish at Frogmoor at 11.00. The walk is free but any donations will go to our partner organisation www.streetkidsdirect.org.uk 

No need to book – just turn up! 

Please note that this walk does not start from the Museum.

 

Walking Wycombe with Willie: Rail, River & Riots Walk

Monday 6 May | 10am – 12.30pm


Join Willie for a new 2.5 hour walk starting from the car park at Wycombe Rye Lido at 10.00 which follows a rectangular route to Loudwater and back. The walk is free but any donations will go to our partner organisation www.streetkidsdirect.org.uk.

No need to book – just turn up! 

Please note this walk does not start from the Museum.

 

 
Archaeological Finds Surgery

Wednesday 7 November; Wednesday 6 February | 11am – 3pm


Bring along your archaeological finds to be identified and recorded by Arwen James, the Bucks and Milton Keynes Finds Liaison Officer. Your find could add to our knowledge of the past on the Portable Antiquities Website.

For more info email ajames@buckscountymuseum.org or call 01296 624519.